One for the win column

I finally have a triumph to share!

It started as a major disappointment. Matt and I went to go look at a house at the last minute on Saturday. I believe the conversation went something along the lines of “I want to see it ASAP.” “Can you meet me in 30?”

This was a property that my parents and I went to go walk around and look through the windows on way back in October and somewhere along the way I’d completely forgotten about it. Mostly because we looked in a lot of windows back then. Anyway, Matt and I walked into the place and it was surprisingly pristine. The carpet was light and clean, the walls were all white and clean, the kitchen cabinets were white and clean. I think the only color in the whole place was the winterizing solution you could see in the toilets. It was missing smoke detectors, a washer and dryer, and a garage door opener but otherwise the place was perfect.

We went and looked at another place that same day but it didn’t feel right, not like the first property at all. So I told Matt I wanted to bid on it and he processed it that same night and I crossed my fingers to wait for Monday.

The house was on a day-to-day bidding schedule by that point (which I will explain more about another time in a post dedicated to all the things I’ve learned about HUDs so far) but what you need to know about that is that it meant that my bid would be processed by end of the next business day.

So Monday I chewed my nails to the quick and chatted with Matt on interoffice instant message about how nervous and scared I was and he commiserated with me like the friend he is. But by the end of business he had to break it to me that they’d closed the property and he’d received no word which typically meant either my bid was too low or someone else bid higher.

I was so disappointed. I thought for sure it would be mine; the property had been vacant since at least October, why wouldn’t the banks want at least what I was willing to pay when clearly no one else was interested in making that investment?

It was a busy morning today and by the time I got to work at eleven I’d already had half a day and to top it off it had started to blizzard (a claims adjuster’s worst nightmare!). Matt interoffice im’s me and the conversation goes;

guess what?
what?
its snowing
no! really?
guess what else
what else?
WE WON SUMMERVILLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOU LIE

Apparently they waited until this morning to notify us so we would have more time put our paperwork together because the timeframe on that is very limited.

My immediate next steps are to take a $1000 cashier’s check to my meeting with Matt tomorrow morning where I will also fill out all my paperwork which I will then also need to contact my bank and start locking in a mortgage and so many things right away that my brain wants to explode.

But, I finally have my first triumph! I do not expect this road to be any less bumpy, but at least I’ve taken that giant first step towards actually getting in a home.

About rustedbrandy8727

I'm 23, almost 24 years old and in the very long, frustrating process of trying to buy my first home.
This entry was posted in What Rocks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

